Yin with afflicted hamstring tendon

This discussion group is for questions about Yin Yoga and other body parts, such as shoulders, feet, wrists, etc.... Also, this is the place to discuss various conditions such as arthritis, osteoporosis, etc.
Neil

Yin with afflicted hamstring tendon

Post by Neil »

I saw Bernie's admirable story of abstinence from forward bending when he realized that it was the only thing that would cure his chronically inflamed upper hamstring tendon. I have concluded that I am in the same situation. I've been practicing yoga daily for 30 years, and two yrs ago developed a foot problem that kept me from walking much for two years. I kept doing yoga, especially yin, not realizing that my hamstrings were at risk because they were getting weak from disuse. I developed a tendonitis near my sitz bones. My main treatment for it is gentle strengthening exercises from a Yoga Journal article. I am also starting to do squats and straight-legged deadlifts, carefully, at the gym.

Question: 1) I love Yin classes, and wonder if I need to give them up completely in order to let this problem heal? If I go, I guess I should talk to the instructor and explain that during forward bends, I would only be doing the pose perhaps 5%, so there is zero stress on the hamstrings? I guess it would be pretty gauche to do some other type of pose while are doing forward bends? 2) Might you know of a physiotherapist in Victoria who is knowledgeable about this kind of problem? My impression is that most physios are trained in treating really acute problems. Many thanks.
Neil
Bernie

Yin Yoga when your hamstrings are injured

Post by Bernie »

Hi Neil - sorry for the delay in responding to your questions. Better late than never though!