Bilateral Cubital tunnel and Carpal tunnel syndromes

This discussion group is for questions about Yin Yoga and other body parts, such as shoulders, feet, wrists, etc.... Also, this is the place to discuss various conditions such as arthritis, osteoporosis, etc.
shy

Bilateral Cubital tunnel and Carpal tunnel syndromes

Post by shy »

Hello. I'm a 36 year old mother and homemaker. I have been practicing yoga for about 15 years, and yin yoga for the past year. I have had cubital tunnel and carpal tunnel for a few years off and on. Have done all kinds of physical therapy, cortizone injections, lifestyle modifications, splints, yet it is getting worse. I used to be overweight after the birth of my child, and doctors told me if I lost weight I would improve. With yin yoga and being mindful of my eating I have lost 70 pounds, yet my arms feel worse. I'm having another emg next month and possible surgery after that. I was hoping someone here might be able to tell me what poses I should avoid or modify and which I should include in my yin yoga practice. I try not to put anyway weight on my wrists or inner elbows. I also hope I am doing the right thing when I modify my yang poses as well. For example, I do dolphin plank making sure I don't put pressure on the elbow area, and I also do downward dog on my forearms. Should I avoid those poses all together? I really love them and try to be careful but I am afraid I might be causing myself more problems no matter how careful I am. I do have pain and tenderness on the inside of my elbows as well and cramping/pain in my hands from these problems. Thank you for your time.
Bernie

Yoga and carpal tunnel and cubital tunnel syndromes

Post by Bernie »

Hi Shy