What to do when a student has lost her bounce?

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
Bernie

What to do when a student has lost her bounce?

Post by Bernie »

I recently received the following email:
  • Hi Bernie - I'm a student from your Spring 2014 training in Vancouver.... you took a very scientific point of view in the training, and so I want to ask you a question that one of my students posed to me. She suffered a broken lower leg near the ankle, but even though she was in a brace for 4 months she still came to yin yoga class and did whatever she was able to do (which pretty much excluded anything that hurt her ankle). She has been out of the brace now for several weeks and has resumed her dance class, which is where she has identified a very discouraging problem.

Here's her email:

• After dance yesterday, where we had a really bouncy younger woman teaching, I realized that I have lost the bounce in step and was really stiff and almost awkward. I am barely able to do anything about it! I thought after my injury that I was just being careful and a little afraid of any pain I might get, but I realized yesterday that I wasn't loosening up and flowing naturally. Reading this article made me realize that being immobile for 4 months really did me some damage. But will yin yoga help me now? I almost didn't stop doing it during my entire recovery! Will continuing yin yoga and going to dance help me recover eventually? What else do I need to be doing? What do you think?