My physiotherapist said that Yin Yoga is dangerous for me.

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
Bernie

My physiotherapist said that Yin Yoga is dangerous for me.

Post by Bernie »

I recently received the following question:
  • I have been reading and learning from your thoughtful interactions on the yin yoga forum for several years. I have not been successful in registering on the forum but never needed to actively participate, Recently, I was asked a question . I have been teaching yin yoga for about 5 years and a new student recently asked me the question below. My initial thought was that if practised properly, the muscles are not actively engaged in a long yin pose, rather the point of the pose is to relax the muscles and to go deeper into the more plastic and less elastic tissues of the connective tissue / fascia. Even when compressing two segments of the body such as the femur and the pelvis, tension or stretching of the opposite segments should be a deeper stretch than the muscles. I am respectful of the opinions of trained professionals such as physiotherapists and so I thought it best to seek further knowledge prior to answering. I wonder if you would have any response to her inquiry that I could offer her?
    Thank you for any assistance.
    Barb Wishart