Quad muscle affecting by Half Happy Baby

Check this forum for suggestions on Yin Yoga flows, sequences and postures, as well as HOW to practice Yin Yoga.
lancewri

Quad muscle affecting by Half Happy Baby

Post by lancewri »

I have been practicing yoga for 5 years, am a 200-RYT with 500 hours of teaching, to include Yin Yoga. When I do Half Happy Baby (more like Folded Pose with the sole of the foot facing the ceiling) with my knee towards my chest and hold it for a while, I experience a mild compression of the upper quad. I usually place a block between my chest and thigh so that I do not move past my Appropriate Edge. The stretching sensation of the hip flexors is just moderate. When I release and lower my extended leg down, the quad feels quite weak and I use my hands to hold the leg as I lower it down. The feeling of quad weakness disappears rapidly. One of my students had a similar experience. There is no pain or tingling. Is this normal? If so, what is going on?
Bernie

Post by Bernie »

Hi Lance

Half Happy Baby is like an upside Dragon pose, but more accessible for most people than the Dragon. I assume that the hip flexor stress you are experiencing is in the extended leg, not the one with the knee close to your chest. But I am not sure what you mean when you say “When I release and lower my extended leg,. Isn't that leg already low? The extended leg in Half Happy Baby is the straight leg. You may feel a stretch in the quad in that leg because the quadricep femoris is a hip flexor. (The other 3 quads are knee extenders and probably were not very active or challenged in this pose.) Since the quadricep femoris has been stressed, it is not as strong as it was before the pose, so a bit of weakness there is not unusual. By the time you have done the other side of the pose, it should be close to normal again.