Dantian

This is the place to discuss the energetic aspects of Yin Yoga and its Daoist heritage
island yogini

Dantian

Post by island yogini »

hey folks,

I'm new to this board and it seemed like the best place to start with my question. Firstly, I've been practicing yin yoga for two years but my first teacher had a background strongly influenced by TCM and shiatsu. I am a shiatsu therapist and therefore really into the therapeutics of yin yoga and also using daoist language in my teaching.
Does anyone have any experience or understanding of yoga practices and dantian? It corresponds to manipura chakra but there is also considered a lower (hara), middle (solar plexus) and upper (third eye) dantian. Basically I'm really keen to get a better understanding of working with asana/pranayama and meditation focusing on dantian. Any links, ideas, experience would be lovely. I suppose it could be just like working with the chakras at these locations but working with building qi at the energy centre is of most interest.

regards, island yogini
sean

Post by sean »

I did some research several months ago that led me to believe that the kanda is the Yogic equivalent to the Taoist tantien. You can see the result of my research on my blog post here: The Kanda.

My advice is to just sit in a comfortable position and gently rest your attention on your lower tantien. Most of the authentic Taoist yoga I've been exposed to tends to feel that the upper two tantiens will more or less take care of themselves naturally when attention is kept in a relaxed but active manner in the lower tantien.

Actually, an even simpler approach is just simply zuowang, "sitting and forgetting", where no specific object is taken for meditation. One just sits without a concept of why they are sitting or what to do. I honestly tend to prefer zuowang, though at times I am drawn to explore various, typically spontaneous forms of qigong and yoga.

Be well,
Sean
admin
Site Admin