Yin Yoga and teeth grinding

This discussion group is for questions about Yin Yoga and other body parts, such as shoulders, feet, wrists, etc.... Also, this is the place to discuss various conditions such as arthritis, osteoporosis, etc.
e_r

Yin Yoga and teeth grinding

Post by e_r »

I'm a long time nocturnal teeth grinder. I've been practicing yin yoga for a few months now, with very good results. However, while I'm very relaxed after practice (usually done just before bed), I typically grind a few hours after falling asleep (and sequentially through the night). Any suggestions in terms of specific poses or otherwise?

Thanks
Bernie

Grinding

Post by Bernie »

Your question is not one that I have ever been asked before, and I am not sure how best to advise you: from your earlier email, you seem to have done a lot of work on this and researched it yourself. You do imply that the grinding and bracing is related to tension, so there may be a few other ways you can try to relax before going to sleep. You are already doing lots of good stuff with a quiet yin practice before bed, but I do wonder if the standing meditation is as relaxing for you as a seated meditation might be.