Saddle Pose - Unevenness

Check this forum for suggestions on Yin Yoga flows, sequences and postures, as well as HOW to practice Yin Yoga.
LovinYin

Saddle Pose - Unevenness

Post by LovinYin »

Hi all. I have been doing Yin yoga for a couple of years - on my own and in class - and would like your opinion and recommendations for an issue I have in Saddle Pose. I do the Half-Saddle pose on each side just fine. But when I go on to do the Saddle Pose I feel very uneven. I understand that the right and left sides of a body are never the same - but I don't know what to focus on in Saddle. This is what happens - my right leg has a good hip rotation. In half saddle, my foot flexes and my leg moves out to the right. My arch lies flat on the floor, and my leg lies rather far out to the right with my knee flat on the floor. On the other side in half saddle, my foot doesn't arch as much. It is more the top of my left foot that in contact with the ground, and my leg carries slightly out to the left. I don't seem to have the same comfy rotation in my hip. When I try full saddle, I need to use a bolster behind my back, and I feel very lopsided from left to right. The left side of my pelvis is much higher than the right and my leg positions are distinctly different looking. My instructor has suggested that I continue with the half-saddle poses and not try a full saddle until I become more even. I seem to be getting stretching benefit from the full saddle (on the bolster) and it is not painful, but I can't focus on visualizing a part of my body for the work - as I am more concentrated on how uneven I feel. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Bernie

Uneven in the Saddle

Post by Bernie »

Without seeing you, I can only visualize what might be happening from your description, but let's start by stating what you already know: we are not symmetric! Our left side IS different than our right side: the reason may be correctable, or it may be just the way we are.