Welcome to the Yin Yoga Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Frequency of Practice and Recovery Time

Post new topic   Reply to topic    YinYoga.com Forum Index -> Yin Yoga Postures, Practice & Sequences
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bill Bane

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:22 am    Post subject: Frequency of Practice and Recovery Time Reply with quote

Hello. I've been practicing Yin Yoga for a few months now, and love your book.

I wonder what the recommended practice frequency is. The connective tissues are stressed and presumably require some time to recuperate, just as the muscles need time off after, say, weight-lifting.

Put another way, is there a recommended maximum number of hours of practice per week? That way, more frequent but shorter sessions might be just as good as fewer, longer ones.

Thanks for offering this forum.
Bernie

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:22 am    Post subject: Recovery time between Yin Yoga workouts Reply with quote

Hi Bill

Glad to hear that you are enjoying Yin Yoga.

Your question of "how often" is a good one: it has been discussed before in the forum. There is a more complete answer at this post: http://www.yinyoga.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=410. You may want to read it and check out some of the research cited there.

In short: it is generally safe to do Yin Yoga daily, but, as always, it depends on the student. Nothing is okay for everybody. You have to listen your body between classes and make sure you feel it is okay to keep going at the current pace.