60 to 90 min General sequence?

Check this forum for suggestions on Yin Yoga flows, sequences and postures, as well as HOW to practice Yin Yoga.
phipho

60 to 90 min General sequence?

Post by phipho »

Hi
My Name is Philip.

I am new to Yin Yoga but I like it very much.

I have seen Paul's video on Yin yoga and I liked it very much.

Also I have Bernie Clarck's Yin yoga and for a week am practicing the Beginners sequence.

I like this sequence because it covers the whole body.

But is there any chance to make it a little longer? For example with a little more hip openers and something for the shoulders? And if it is possible which poses are good to be included and where would be their right place?

Also is it good to add the Yang poses from Paul's video and if yes where?

If no which Yang ago should be better?

And also I if practice Astanga yoga, what will be the best schedule for Yin yoga and Astanga yoga?

Thank you very much
Bernie

Post by Bernie »

Hi Philip

Welcome to the Yin-side!

You are free to extend the beginner’s sequence by holding the postures longer, as long as that feel appropriate. If you want to work other areas of the body, there are other flows in my book, the Complete Guide to Yin Yoga, that can give you that. Check out the flow for the hips and even the flow for the upper body. There is a whole section on upper body yin in the book.

Yang poses can be added but only as a short counterpose. Which yang posture depends upon what pose you just did. Generally we either try to relax the whole body, or make gentle movements in the opposite direction of the previous pose: for example – if you did Butterfly, which is a flexion of the hips and spine, you could do a gentle backbend (extension) of the spine via Table top.