Hypothyroidism - thyroid poses

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
Tim_Mac

Hypothyroidism - thyroid poses

Post by Tim_Mac »

Hi Bernie
are there any specifics asanas that can be added to help stimulate an under active thyroid?

Thanks

Tim
Bernie

Yin Yoga and the Thyroid

Post by Bernie »

Hi Tim

I apologize for the lateness of this reply: I only now noticed your post! Sorry about that.

As you know, I am not a doctor, and it is dangerous to accept medical advice over the Internet. Are you asking for yourself, or for a student? If for yourself, what background can you give me? Have you seen your health care provider? What do they suggest, have you done that, and what were the results?

Yoga has been prescribed as a tonic for the thyroid, (see the book Know and Solve Thyroid Problems By Shiv Dua) but generally the prescriptions are to massage the area of the throat: postures that compress those tissues like Shoulder Stands, Plough, or in the Yin Yoga world – Snail pose; postures that stretch the throat like Fish, Wheel or in the Yin Yoga world – Camel, Saddle or even Seal with the head lifted. Neck twists may also prove helpful: reclining or seat twists can create some healthy tension through the throat area. As always, any pain in the neck is a contra-indication for any of these postures. Flowing Cat/Cow movements may also be good.