Injuries and Yin

Please use this forum to ask any questions you may have about yoga in general or Yin Yoga in particular, or to discuss anything you have discovered that may be of general interest. Note, spam will be removed and the user deleted, and this includes putting website in your posting that are purely commercial.
Un-flexy wexy

Injuries and Yin

Post by Un-flexy wexy »

I am a Yin teacher with about 18 months experience. A little background, I have done a general 200 hr training, have my RYT and have done an additional 100 hours toward a Yoga Therapy cert. My mentor and the owner of the studio where I teach has recently started telling me that Yin is unsafe and really shouldn't be taught. Rather than giving me specific examples and research, she has told me I need to be doing my research. I have done tons of research ( Paul grilley, Sarah Powers, Bernie, Ulrica Norberg, Biff Mithoefer). I watch this forum on a regular basis and read the newsletters and research. I'm baffled as to what I am missing. She has recently finished Leslie Kaminoffs anatomy training and seems to be reluctant to share. Is there brand new information that I need? I can say that my practice is informed by my very inflexible body(years of running and daily doses of work related stress) and I am unable know the hyper-mobility side of this. Any insight or suggestions will be gratefully received.
Bernie

???

Post by Bernie »

I am not sure how to advise you on this one: anyone can say "Oh - don't do X, it is dangerous!" but to refuse to say why X is dangerous is just either lazy or ignorant. If this person is your mentor as you say, you deserve more than a "figure it out for yourself!"