Yin Yoga for Beginners

Check this forum for suggestions on Yin Yoga flows, sequences and postures, as well as HOW to practice Yin Yoga.
Bernie

Yin Yoga for Beginners

Post by Bernie »

I recently received the following email:

Hello – I'm 21 and live up north in Norway. Right now I am looking at the asanas poses on yinyoga.com. I am very dedicated to practice yoga in the future. Does the yin yoga rules/guidelines apply for all of the poses at yinyoga.com? asanas and everything? Into position, wait for the body to open up; holding still; holding for time.

Unfortunately I am pretty stiff, a true 75% Norwegian. I just started stretching about four days ago with the goal of getting very flexible and elastic fast and so that I can get into a full Lotus pose. I didn't know anything about stretching then and I went full power ALL IN the first day and my body didn't want to get stretched very much the next day. It was much pain that day. Hehhehe.

So I started studying of course and now yoga stands much higher on the list. Yoga will give me the same results but a lot more as well. I studied a bit on yinyoga.com and I am a spiritual person already, I enjoy nurturing myself and my life-energies in all ways.

So if I would do the different asanas poses the way described now, will I get injured if I hold for time? Of course, I see that I have to listen to my body and don't allow any pain, but do you have any inputs about this? Like do I only do the pose halfway and wait till it opens up or how does that work? I like to do things right but my body has learnt that it can't copy the same stuff that the guys who is showing the poses do.